Brain fog, and gut health

Judith's Squirrels
1 min readJul 28, 2022

--

It’s annoying, but I’ve been living with it for years, so I’m not surprised. My digestion is out of whack, which is recurring since I suffer from IBS, but I can see how much of an impact it has on my ability to study. For the past two days, I couldn’t make sense of anything by the end of my tutoring sessions due to cognitive confusion. My digestion has been off for a week now, and I can feel the effects strongly now.

From sleeping in the day, to an inability to think, and rising anxiety levels, my entire being is out of balance. I can also hear the cranky negative nagging voice of depression creeping in at odd times. Things are marvellous with St, my life is stabilising even if I’m in between two places at the moment, and school all, and all is going good. I’m dealing with a full on gut brain breakdown.

I’m not suffering any major setback at this time, it’s mostly the ongoing fatigue that is bothering me. I’m studying more about the digestive system while pushing through my physics homework. There’s a reason why I’m going into microbiology, and what’s going on right now is motivation. I’m just reaffirming my commitment to my field of studies.

Gratitude journal:

I’m grateful for poetry.

--

--

Judith's Squirrels

Completed diary of a student entering university at forty. Just writing for me. Kaizenka, ex-nomade, foodie, and health nerd.